AdminTech

How to delete WhatsApp messages after the time limit

WhatsApp gives you seven minutes to delete the messages you sent, a simple trick lets you extend this message indefinitely. We explain how to delete WhatsApp messages before they are read.

Deleting a sent WhatsApp message is really easy. Just tap and hold it, then tap the trash can icon that appears in the top bar and say OK to the message that pops up to ask if you really want to delete it.

What you probably want to know, however, is how to delete this message so that the recipient can’t see it either. And it’s simple: just select the option “Delete for everyone”.

This is possible up to seven minutes after sending a message, although this is of course only valid if it has not yet been read.

According to WABetaInfo, this time limit is extended to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds, at least on iOS. But Android and iPhone users can actually delete WhatsApp messages after even longer period of time, as we highlight below.

You will know if a message has already been read, whether or not there are two blue check marks – that means it has been read, while two gray check marks simply mean it has been delivered. (If they read it on a smartwatch or on the lock screen as a notification, they might have read it, but the checkmarks won’t be blue.)

When a message has been deleted, it will be replaced with a message informing both parties that a message has been deleted, which could lead to embarrassing questions.

Delete for Everyone works with all types of WhatsApp messages, whether they are text messages, videos, images, GIFs, or documents. It works on iOS and Android.

How to buy yourself more time – Delete WhatsApp messages after 7 minutes

If you sent a WhatsApp message, immediately regretted it, and now find that it is too late to use the Delete for Everyone feature (because seven minutes have already passed), you can bypass this period deletion.

• Turn off Wi-Fi and mobile data

• Access the settings, Time and Date settings and reset the date to a time before sending the message.

• Open WhatsApp, find and select the message, tap on the trash can icon and choose “Delete for everyone”

• Turn on Wi-Fi and mobile data and reset the time and date to normal so that the message is deleted on the WhatsApp servers (and continue to use your phone)

Hope this tip has you more, do not hesitate to share with your friends