AdminTech

How to delete Facebook messages step by step

Facebook is the most popular and the most important platform to connect with different people all over the world. It’s a great way to share your knowledge, views, photos, videos, products, etc. But the most common thing a Facebook user does is chat with their friends.

You can easily chat with any number of people you want if he or she is on Facebook. But all the messages you send and receive through Facebook are stored in your Facebook profile, which you can view later if needed. But if you have some really private messages that you don’t want to share with someone, then it’s a big NO to keep them on your Facebook account inbox. As if somehow or another person entered or hacked into your Facebook account, the messages can be misused. So, it is always good to keep your Facebook account on the safe side.

But how to delete messages or conversations on Facebook ?

Well if you fail now to delete Facebook messages or the whole conversation, don’t worry, this article contains complete guide to delete Facebook messages and chat with simple steps. We will check the steps to delete messages from Facebook website first, then from Facebook messenger.

Step by Step Guide on How to Delete Facebook Messages from Website

Deleting Facebook messages is a straightforward method. It’s quick, easy to understand, and easy to follow. You can easily delete the Facebook messages using the simple steps given below. It will let you know how to delete Facebook messages, a selected message or the whole conversation with someone. So let’s get started.

I. Log into the Facebook account

The first step is to log into your Facebook account. Visit Facebook.com, enter your username and password, and click the button Login to log into your Facebook account.

II. Click on the message field

Now that you’ve signed into your Facebook account, find the message box to see all of the messages in your account. Click on the message box as shown in the image below, then click View all link that will display all messages in your Facebook account.

III. Find the message you want to delete

Scroll through the conversations and find the conversation you want to delete. If you don’t want to go through the message list, just type the name of the Facebook user whose Facebook messages you want to delete in the search box present at the top. Type the name and the search result, then click on it to open the whole conversation.

IV. Select the desired messages

Now, it’s time to decide if you want to delete the whole conversation or just a selected message. If you want to delete the selected messages, just hover over the message you want to delete and click on the three horizontal dots. It will reveal a Delete button to delete the message, click on it. Do the same with any messages you want to delete. Earlier, it was possible to select all the desired messages that you want to delete and delete them right away. But now you will have to do it one by one.

But he will not delete the messages on the account of another participant, the messages will always be present on his account. The method only removes the copy of messages from your Facebook account only.

V. Delete the whole conversation

If you don’t want to delete the selected messages, want to erase the whole conversation, follow the steps below:

  • Find and open the conversation you want to delete.
  • Click the setting icon and select Delete conversation, then confirm it. That’s all you want to do to delete the entire conversation on Facebook.

These were the steps to delete the Facebook message on the Facebook site. But if you want to delete Facebook messages on Facebook messenger, follow the steps below.

Step by Step Guide to Delete Facebook Messages on Facebook Messenger

I. Open Facebook Messenger on your mobile

If you are using Facebook Messenger, here are the steps to delete messages from Facebook messenger. Open Facebook Messenger and sign in to your account.

II. Find the conversation

Once you open the app, all the messages will be displayed there. You’ve just gone through the list of conversations and found the one you want to delete.

III. Delete selected messages

After you find the conversation you want to delete messages from, open it, hold the message you want to delete. But unfortunately, you can only delete one message at a time. Then, after selecting the message, click on the Delete button. The message will be deleted.

IV. Delete the whole conversation

Now, if you want to delete the whole conversation instead of just one message, first find the conversation you want to delete and then press and hold to select it, then press the Delete button to delete the whole conversation. And if you are using an iOS device, swipe right to left to delete the conversation.

This was the complete guide to delete Facebook messages and conversations easily. Hope you found the article useful.