A Google Account gives you access to all of Google’s services, including Gmail, YouTube, Google+, Drive, and more. But what if you’ve had enough and want to get out? Can you delete Gmail account information? Yes, you can absolutely delete Gmail account information forever.
Before you stop, keep in mind that there is a lot of data that you will lose if you delete your Google account. That’s not to say you shouldn’t. Perhaps you have a secondary account that you no longer use, or have some other reason for doing so. If you want to permanently delete your Google account, this is very easy to do. We will take a look.
Delete Gmail Account Good Things To Know Before You Do It
If you delete your Google account, you lose a lot of data, including:
- All Google services, such as Gmail , Drive , Google Calendar, etc., as well as all data associated with these accounts, such as emails, photos, notes, etc.
- Any subscription or content purchased from YouTube or Google Play Movies, Books or Music.
- Information saved with Chrome, including access to free or paid Chrome apps and extensions.
- If you are using an Android smartphone, you will also lose access to contacts linked to that account, as well as any data backed up using Android Backup services.
- Finally, you will also lose the username permanently. You will not be able to register using the same username after deleting the account.
Things to do before you go
If you’ve been using your Google Account for a while, chances are you have some important data to save, such as emails, notes, photos, and other information. If there aren’t many, you can download them individually, but Google provides an easy way to back up all your data.
- Open your Google Account settings by going to accounts.google.com .
- Under the option “Personal information and confidentiality”, click on “Control your content”.
- Once opened, click on “Create archive”. There you can select the Google products from which you want to save the information.
- You can then choose the archive file type and where you want to save it. You can also choose to get a download link by email or save it to cloud services like Drive, OneDrive, or Dropbox.
- Depending on the amount of information archived, the whole process may take some time.
Keep in mind that your Gmail address may also be associated with other services, such as bank accounts and other websites. So be sure to keep track of these accounts and update the information before deleting the Gmail account information.
Deleting Gmail account – it’s not difficult
- Access to parameters your Google account. Under the “Account Preferences” option, click “Delete your account or services”. Then tap “Delete Google account and data”.
- You’ll also see an option to back up your data here, followed by a full list of all the content you’ll lose access to when you delete your Google account.
- At the end of the page, you must accept two acknowledgments before you can click the “Delete Account” button to permanently delete your Google Account.
Removal of specific services only
- Instead of deleting your entire Google account, you can also remove access to certain services. First, instead of clicking on “Delete Google accounts and data”, click on “Delete products”.
- There you will see a list of services that you can delete individually.
- If you delete Gmail account information, you will need to add another email address which will now be linked to other Google services you still use.
Recover a recently deleted account
If you deleted your Google Account and immediately regret it, you have a short window to get it back.
- Go to the page relative assistance passwords.
- Select “I’m having other connection problems”.
- Then follow the instructions on the page to see if you can recover the account. Keep in mind that this might not be possible. Also, if you have deleted Gmail and added a non-Google email address so that you can access other Google services, you will not be able to recover your Gmail username.
Hope you know exactly how to delete Gmail accounts. Do you have any questions? Leave a comment below and we’ll do our best to help.