AdminTech

Facebook Messenger: How To Use Secret Conversations And Secure Your Messages With Encryption

All of us, at some point in time or the other, share personal information with that special someone we trust. When using encrypted messages, secrets will remain a secret. Facebook has rolled out a new feature called “Secret Chat” which allows you to send secret, end-to-end encrypted messages. The messages you send in Secret Conversations are meant for you and the other person – not someone else, not even Facebook.

secret-conversations-facebook

Facebook Messenger: How To Use Secret Conversations And Secure Your Messages With Encryption

How to use Secret Conversations

When you start a message, it does not start a secret conversation. The setting for secret conversations is disabled by default. Meaning, you have to change the default setting to enable this feature. To start a secret conversation, follow these simple steps –

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of Facebook Messenger app.
  2. Open Facebook Messenger. Press the “i” icon that you see on the upper right corner.
  3. Select Secret conversation in the list.
  4. Finally, choose ” Activate “.

Now you can start secret conversations. It is always advisable to use end-to-end encryption because it provides greater security. Talking about this feature, Facebook says – “We have heard from you that there are times when you want additional guarantees – can -being when reviewing private information like an illness or health problem with trusted friends and family, or sending financial information to an accountant. “Looks like Facebook took these comments seriously and actually implemented end-to-end encryption for messages.

How to verify that your conversation is encrypted

Both people in the secret conversation will have access to a device key that they can compare to verify that messages are in fact end-to-end encrypted. Just because you don’t verify doesn’t mean the messages aren’t encrypted. Your messages will be encrypted if you compare the keys on the device. To display the device keys in a conversation –

  1. Start / open an existing conversation with someone.
  2. Press the last name up.
  3. Press on Device keys .
  4. Compare your device key with the key to the other person’s device.

If the keys on the device match, it means you’ve verified that the messages are end-to-end encrypted.

How to delete all secret conversations

If you, however, choose to delete all conversations on your device, you can do so. Just to mention, deleting a message or conversation on your device obviously does not delete it from the other person’s device. To delete all secret conversations from your device, follow these steps –

  1. Tap the profile icon. Then press Secret Conversations .
  2. Touch Delete Secret Conversations
  3. Press on Delete all .

If you want to delete the messages you send after a specific amount of time, you can also set a timer for your messages to disappear from the conversation. You can do this by tapping the timer icon in text box and setting the timer to make the message disappear. When the time is up, messages will disappear from devices of all users who are part of the chat.