Crit’Air: more than 500 municipalities banned from category 3, 4 and 5 cars from 2021

If your car exceeds Crit’Air 2 standards, you will no longer be able to access 511 municipalities in France by next year. In question, the decision of Barbara Pompili and Jean-Bernard Djebarri to strengthen the ZFE device, until then composed of 239 cities. This measure, aimed at reducing the levels of pollution caused by the circulation of polluting vehicles, will continue to develop in the future.

To fight against CO2 emissions produced by cars, Barbara Pompili, the Minister of Ecological Transition and Jean-Bernard Djebarri, Minister for Transport, have found a solution: strengthen the ZFE system (Low Emission Zones). Thus, many municipalities will join the program while their access will be prohibited to vehicles with a Crit’Air sticker greater than 2. This decision concerns 272 cities, bringing the whole to a total of 511 cities.

At present, 239 municipalities are spread over four EPZs: Grand Paris (130 municipalities), Paris, Grand Lyon (59 municipalities) and Grenoble-Alpes MĂ©tropole (49 municipalities). New zones will therefore be added in 2021: Aix-Marseille Provence (92 municipalities), Rouen-Normandy (71 cities), Nice-French Riviera (49 cities), Toulouse Metropolis (47 municipalities), Toulon-Provence-Mediterranean (12 cities) and Strasbourg.

Also read: SUVs are the second leading cause of global warming according to WWF

511 municipalities prohibited for cars with Crit’Air 3, 4 and 5

This system will therefore be added to all the measures already in place in the cities concerned. Lyon, in particular, will ban cars with diesel engines by 2026. The government thus wishes to drastically reduce greenhouse gas emissions by labeled vehicles. Crit’Air 3, 4 and 5 “In areas that are not on a path allowing them to comply with the air quality limit values”. Note that communities may toughen regulations if they wish.

The executive does not stop there: by 2025, all metropolises of more than 150,000 inhabitants will in turn have to integrate the ZFE system, in anticipation of the strengthening of European regulations. Finally, with the aim of fining motorists who do not comply with the new instructions, radars capable of detecting the Crit’Air sticker vehicles will be placed near the roads around 2022. Remember that cars over 1,800 kilos will be taxed for ecological penalties from that same year.

The Crit’Air sticker classifies your vehicle according to its CO2 emissions

Appeared on July 1, 2016, the Crit’Air sticker “Indicates the environmental class of your car according to its atmospheric pollutant emissions”, according to its official website. It thus allows local authorities improve air quality by applying specific traffic and parking regulations in local municipalities. Three criteria are taken into account during the classification: the type of vehicle, its engine and the European standard of polluting emissions that the vehicle respects. To find out which of the six categories your vehicle belongs to, the government has set up a specially dedicated simulator.

You will find below a vehicle classification table listed according to their date of first registration. A car running for example on diesel and registered between January 1, 2006 and December 31, 2010 is class 3. A heavy vehicle registered from January 1, 2014 and running on gasoline is class 1.

Apart from a few exceptions such as emergency vehicles or agricultural machinery, all motorists are concerned by this device. To obtain your Crit’Air sticker, simply go to the vehicle registration system (SIV) website. You can also send a request by mail to the Service for issuing air quality certificates. Your registration card must imperatively be up to date to do this. You will then receive your certificate within 7 to 10 days. It should be noted that any motorist driving in an EPZ without a Crit’Air sticker is liable to incur a fine of up to € 450.

Source: automobile-company