Have you tried Amazon Prime on Prime Day or to get express delivery urgently? You now wish to cancel your registration. Here are the steps to follow.
Amazon offers 2 formulas for its Prime subscription which gives access to many services like Prime Video, Prime Music, Amazon Photos… If you have opted for the monthly subscription (for € 5.99 / month) when you cancel your subscription you will only have to pay the current month. Which might not be the case if you signed up for 12 months.
Read also : Amazon Prime: prices, benefits, account sharing, we tell you everything
Amazon Prime unsubscription: 3 cases
If you have chosen the annual subscription, the contract which binds you to Amazon Prime for € 49 per year is automatically renewed on each anniversary date. To interrupt it, 3 cases exist:
1 / Vou are still in a free trial period. Just go to Your account / Your Amazon Prime account and click on Manage your subscription. There you will only have to validate the termination of your subscription by clicking on End my benefits.
Amazon also gives the option to receive an email alert 3 days before the end of your trial period. You will continue to receive your Amazon Prime benefits until the end of your 30-day free trial period. Your registration will then be automatically canceled and your card will not be charged.
2 / You have passed the trial period but you have not used any of the Amazon Prime services. In this case, you can cancel your registration via Your account. The 49 euros will be fully reimbursed.
3 / You have exceeded the trial period and you have used Prime services. In this case, you cannot claim reimbursement. But by going to your account, you will block the renewal and you can continue to use your account until the scheduled date.
The right of withdrawal has no interest in this case, since it is only 14 days while the trial period is one month. The withdrawal period starts from the moment you sign the contract. Or 15 days before the end of the trial period.
Save your content before leaving
Obviously as soon as your subscription ends, you will lose access to the content but also to all the content that you may have hosted in the cloud: your possible books purchased from the Kindle library, your photos hosted via Amazon Photos or any other file stored in the cloud.
So make sure you have recovered all of your files because once your account is closed, your data will be deleted and cannot be recovered. So in the case of books you will have to save it on your Kindle e-reader.
Read also : The best series to watch on Amazon Prime Video