contador pagina web Skip to content

How to delete photos from Google Photos but not from your smartphone

Google Photos is an application available on Android and iOS. Because it is cloud-based software, it means that all of the storage files are online. Thus, smartphone users can use this application to free up storage space on their devices.

However, some common privacy issues arise when photos are stored on cloud software. As with everything that can be found on the Internet, there is always a chance that another party will be able to see these photos. In this article, we will show you how to delete photos from Google Photos but not from your smartphone.

See also: How to use Google Stadia on smartphone

Solutions and steps to follow

Some users may experience problems when the same Google account is linked to multiple devices. There are two methods listed below which can help you delete your photos from Google.

Method 1: Delete your Google photos on your smartphone

This method is suitable for users of Android and iOS devices. It is relatively simple and easy to follow.

  1. From your home screen, find and tap the Google Photos app.
  2. Log in to your Google Account which contains all the photos.
  3. At the top of the screen, tap the menu option. The menu option icon consists of three horizontal lines.
  4. Select Parameters.
  5. Under settings, disable the backup and synchronization function on all devices that save images in Google Photos. This is to ensure that the images are not downloaded again to the application after deletion.
  6. Scroll through the images you have on Google Photos. Press and hold the images you want to delete until the image is selected. You can select multiple images.
  7. In the upper right corner, tap the trash can icon. This will put all the selected images in the trash. They would be stored here for 60 days in case you want to retrieve them again.
  8. To permanently delete all multimedia files from your bin, select the menu icon again.
  9. You can delete each individually or choose the Delete all function available.

Method 2: Deleting Your Google Photos on Your Laptop

This method requires you to use a PC as well as your smartphone to delete the photos on the cloud storage software, Google Photos.

  1. Follow steps 1 through 5 of method 1. After these steps, you will be sure that the images will not be uploaded again to Google Photos after deletion.
  2. On your laptop, search for photos.google.com in your browser.
  3. Connect to the website using your Google account that your smartphone is connected to.
  4. Find the images you saved on Google Photos. Hover your cursor over the images you want to delete. Check the small checkmark icon in the upper left corner of the media files. It is possible to click on several images at the same time.
  5. There should be a trash can icon in the upper right corner of the web page. This will move all of the images to the trash. After 60 days, the images will be deleted permanently.

Method 3: Disable permissions for Google Photos on your device

It works for Android users.

  1. Find and tap the Settings app on your Android device
  2. Go to Applications, then select Google Photos.
  3. Look for the Calls Permissions parameter. Under this setting, toggle the button to turn off the storage option.
  4. Follow method 1 or 2 to delete the photos already on Google Photos.

Closing words

The Internet is a double-edged sword. While it gives us the benefit of additional storage space, it can compromise privacy. Remember to take steps to protect your privacy.