estadisticas free Saltar al contenido

Spotify: how to permanently delete your account

diciembre 3, 2019
Phonandroid : actu Android et High-tech

Maj. the November 12, 2019 10 h 53 min

If for one reason or another you want to permanently delete your Spotify account, the process is simple. In this tutorial, we will see how to proceed to close a Spotify account by going through the web version of the application since it is not possible to do it directly from the mobile version.

Delete your Spotify account permanently

Spotify is by far the most popular music streaming service in the world. The platform has already surpassed 100 million subscribers since April 2019 and has more than 117 million users under the free formula, bringing the total to over 217 million users. The service is well ahead of the competition, including Apple Music, Deezer, YouTube Music, to name a few.

Spotify is however far from perfect or its conditions of use do not necessarily suit everyone. Those who use an advertising blocker, for example, now risk the outright suspension of their Spotify account. If for one reason or another you decideto delete your account, the process is simple.

Delete your Spotify account in 6 steps

Simple, but not necessarily empty for who has never done it. If you are a premium subscriber, you will need terminate your subscription at first. Then you have to know that deleting your Spotify account is an irreversible action. Once you have done so, it will no longer be possible to redeem the account, your playlists or your preferences. It will be necessary to start again by creating a new account.

It is not possible to delete a Spotify account from the mobile application. It is necessary to go through the web version of the service.

  1. Start by logging into your account from the spotify.com site on a web browser.
  2. Then, go down at the bottom of the page and click on the link about.
  3. Then click on the link Contact form in the section Customer Support.
  4. In category selection, select Account.
  5. Then choose the option I want to close my account definitively.
  6. Validate the deletion of the account after knowing the consequences of such a decision.

In fact, Spotify informs you that deleting your account permanently will result in the non-possibility to reuse your current username, retrieve your music, saved playlists and subscribers. Finally, in a last attempt to retain you, the platform reminds you that it has all the same over 30 million pieces of music available for free and that it would be nice to no longer enjoy it …

That's as simple as that. And to go further, do not hesitate to consult our comparison of the best music streaming services: Spotify, Deezer, Youtube Music or Apple Music, which one to choose?

Rate this post